Log in

Society for Mathematical Biology Fellows

The Society for Mathematical Biology Fellows Program honors members of the Society who are recognized by the scientific and scholarly community as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline.

Any Society for Mathematical Biology regular member in good standing is eligible to be nominated to be a Society for Mathematical Biology Fellow. For these purposes, a regular member is defined as a non-student, dues-paying member. A nominee is expected to have been a member of the profession for at least ten years. Member of the profession is defined as holding a faculty or independent research position. Society for Mathematical Biology Presidents and Bulletin of Mathematical Biology Editor-in-Chiefs will automatically become Fellows upon election, if they are not Fellows already.

The society aims to name up to two fellows every two years. The award recipient will receive a certificate at the award ceremony in the Annual Meeting of the Society.

2017 (Inaugural Fellows)

  • Simon Levin (Society President, 1987-1989), Princeton University
  • Stuart Kauffman (Society President, 1989-1991), Santa Fe Institute
  • Alan Perelson (Society President, 1991-1993), Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • John Tyson (Society President,1993-1995), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Leah Edelstein-Keshet (Society President, 1995-1997), University of British Columbia
  • Leon Glass (Society President, 1997-1999), McGill University
  • Alan Hastings (Society President, 1999-2001 and Bulletin of Mathematical Biology Editor-in-Chief, 2016-present), University of California, Davis
  • Mark Lewis (Society President, 2001-2003), University of Alberta
  • Philip Maini, (Bulletin of Mathematical Biology Editor-in-Chief, 2002-2015), University of Oxford
  • Lou Gross (Society President, 2003-2005), University of Tennessee at Knoxville
  • Mark Chaplain (Society President, 2005-2007), St. Andrews University
  • Avner Friedman (Society President, 2007-2009), Ohio State University
  • Michael Mackey (Society President, 2009-2011), McGill University
  • Gerda de Vries (Society President, 2011-2013), University of Alberta
  • Fred Adler (Society President, 2013-2015), University of Utah
  • Santiago Schnell (Society President, 2015-2017), University of Michigan Medical School
  • Reinhard Laubenbacher, (Bulletin of Mathematical Biology Editor-in-Chief, 2016-present), University of Florida
  • Denise Kirschner (Society President, 2017-2019), University of Michigan Medical School


  • Ramit Mehr, Bar-Ilan University
  • Eberhard Voit, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Alexander Anderson, Moffitt Cancer Center (Society President, 2019-2021)


  • Helen Byrne, University of Oxford
  • Heiko Enderling, Moffitt Cancer Center (Society President, 2021-2023)


  • Richard Bertram, Florida State University
  • Jane Heffernan, York University (Society President, 2023-2025)
  • Sivabal Sivaloganathan, University of Waterloo

© 2023 - Society for Mathematical Biology | Site by
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software